We always recommend reading all security warnings while on the internet. However, both Internet Explorer and Java recently changed their security warning messages and clicking the wrong option will cause problems in applications such as Blackboard. For example, when using Internet Explorer 8, you may encounter the security warning: “Do you want to view only the webpage content that was delivered securely?” Although it is good that IE8 informs you that mixed content is being displayed (such as both a secure site and a non-secure site), if you select “Yes” then some content may not appear. We’ve encountered this with Blackboard (a secure site) and a publisher epack (non-secure). If you select “Yes,” then only content from Blackboard will appear, blocking content from outside sources (think weblinks opened within Blackboard).
Java has a similarly worded security warning that you may have encountered in Blackboard: “Block potentially unsafe components from being run?” Usually it’s a good idea to block anything potentially harmful; however, Blackboard is completely safe. If you choose “Yes,” then Java will not load the My Computer icon for uploading files. If My Computer does not load, close down your browser (all windows) and log into Blackboard again. The security warning should appear once you try to upload files.
You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.